The Red Dot Garage Guitar.

Remind me again why I do this??????

I thought it would be a good idea to help some dudes I knew long ago make a promotional guitar for the band they play in. To my disgust, semi-adult life is busy and normally there’s no time for projects I enjoy.

The general idea is to take a less expensive guitar and replace the finish and the components to make it better in function and more custom in appearance.

The first thing you have to realize is anyone having doubts should save their money and buy a guitar they like at the store. Refinishing supplies and replacement parts are expensive. Not to mention the process is never without frustration.

Tonight I did my final sanding and shaping then set up my make shift painting area in order to apply the first coat of sand-able automotive primer. I’ve read that if you warm the spray can in hot water, the splattering and spitting inherent in all spraypaint is lessened.

The next step is to turn off the furnace. When the furnace starts every tiny molecule of airborne funk seems to make a bee line to the nearest sticky surface………….That and fumes tend to explode.  Sad really as I sort of enjoy the chemical buzz in a confined space.

So there I was excited, determined,  trying to remember everything Ive done wrong with these projects in the past. I made my move and popped off the top of the can only to find my particular can had no spray nozzle included…………..NICE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I guess It’s the same reason it takes me six hours to make gumbo……………some things in life are worth doing right and in the end it’s the process we remember!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

