I am a rock…

… I am an island…

Well, no — I’m really just a rock.

Today I was outside at Andys and I was looking at the rocks in the landscape outside of their back deck.  It was a beautiful April day and I was waxing even more philosophical… and it ended up poetic.

I am a rock

Sometimes I’m round and smooth.

Other times, I’m sharp and jagged.

Once in a while, speckly or solid.

Usually I am surrounded by other rocks,

Other people going where I go.

Once in a while, I’m on the outside looking in.

Because I’m a rock

Sometimes I’m covered in snow.

Sometimes I bake in the sun.

Sometimes I have other rocks along side me

Some rocks look like me, others don’t

The other rocks around me may change.

I may change, grow or shrink.

Sometimes, I’m alone.

No matter who is around me, I’m still a rock.

or, I can play one in Colorado…

 

2 Responses

  1. “Stones are mute teachers; they silence the observer, and the most valuable lessons we learn from them we cannot communicate.” ~Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe

    (A visitor left this note on my fridge after finding the rocks all through my house.)

  2. That’s beautiful… thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

