I am a shadow..

… the shadow of a tree in springtime.

Sometimes I’m deep and dark.

No light or movement

just still, quiet, strong.

Like the trunk of the tree.

Sometimes I’m light gray.

Opaque, moving, restless,

like the leaves on the tree.

I am simple,

honest, loyal and kind,

like the outline of the tree.

I am complicated inside,

like the pattern of leaves and branches

crossing on another on the grass.

Not knowing which way I’m going

or how to get there.

I am a shadow.

I’m not sure why I’m doing poetry right now — I really haven’t written it since Ms. M’s class… and even then it wasn’t all that good.

I suspect it’s because I have a lot of work to do and I can’t focus on much more than one small thing at a time.

One Response

  1. I do like the premise–but I’m a sucker for trees.

Leave a Reply

